Sami (Southern Sami)
600 speakers
12 language specific characters
ISO 639 code: sma
Sami is a Finno-Ugric language with about 20,000 speakers. The language was formerly known as Lapp, but that name is now considered derogatory. Sami is in fact made up of three mutually unintelligible languages: Southern Sami, Central Sami and Eastern Sami, each of which has a number of dialects.
Sami is an official language in the Norwegian municipalities of Kautokeino, Karasjok, Kåfjord, Nesseby, Sør-Varanger and Tana. In Finland, the Sami people have the right to use Sami languages for all government services, and Sami is the official language in the Enontekiö, Inari, Sodankylä and Utsjoki municipalities. Sami has offical status in the Swedish municipalities of Arjeplog, Gällivare, Jokkmokk and Kiruna, and is one of five recognized minority languages in Sweden.
source,,, &
younger brothers